How does my garden grow?

DSC_0306

I have a long history of killing houseplants. Or at least, failing to keep them alive and thriving. Nevertheless, I wanted to try my hand at vegetable gardening.

When that first little seedling poked it heads above ground, I was ecstatic.

I truly had expected nothing to grow. To my surprise, most of the planted seeds sprouted, and grew, and thrived! I had a little lesson in transplanting, and ended up just starting over with some seeds directly in the garden.

My snow peas were one of the ones I did not have to start over (although I did plant more from seed). The transplanted ones are thriving now, and I was so happy to pick some of the first snow peas this week!
DSC_0304

I thought my transplanted tomatoes had died after we had a late frost, but I left them planted anyway. Today I discovered that they are definitely growing and actually look much healthier than the ones I planted from the garden centre. They are, however, quite a bit smaller, so we’ll see what happens.

DSC_0319

I did some reading on vegetable gardening before I planted everything, so I had some basic knowledge, but now I just water, weed, and wait. I’m surprised at how much I could fit into the (relatively) small space that we set aside for the garden.

DSC_0312

This experimental summer is giving me great hope for the future. It’s even inspiring me to buy a few houseplants again, though I haven’t dared to, yet. Maybe in a few years, I’ll have a thriving vegetable garden, and indoor plants as well! 😉
DSC_0321

One thought on “How does my garden grow?

  1. doreentamminga June 20, 2015 / 11:05 am

    Lovely! Nothing tastes better than your own vegetables….if you remember to water them ;). John keeps our houseplants alive these days. I killed many by faithfully drowning them once every week or two!

Leave a Reply

