Move Aside, Dutch Pancakes

A few weeks ago, I stumbled across thisweekfordinner.com.

Among other delicious recipe ideas, I found a recipe for Yorkshire Pudding. I’d read about it in James Herriot books, but never thought to try it. It is more commonly eaten with roast beef (I believe) than the way I’m going to share, but trust me, this is delicious stuff.

All you do is take your basic Dutch pancake recipe, and blend the ingredients together. (Don’t quote me on this, but the ratios seem very similar. The ingredients are identical.)

IMG_20150205_172738
Cut a chunk of butter (salted is best) a little small than 1/4 cup and toss in a 9×13 pan. Put it in the hot oven.
IMG_20150205_173512
When it begins to bubble, like so ^^^ 🙂 pour your blended ingredients into the pan.
IMG_20150205_173543
Now it looks like that ^^ and you are wondering (I was, anyway) how this is all going to work out..
IMG_20150205_180050
Ta-Da! It worked out! The true colour is a lovely golden brown, not the bland stuff you see in the picture.
IMG_20150205_180404

For best results, top with homemade Ontario-strawberry jam! It’s a hit all around. Serve with fresh fruit to round the meal off a little. It’s probably more of a dessert, but no one here has any problems with letting it pass for dinner every once in a while. 😉

Not the healthiest, but hey, you can’t beat the deliciousness. So much less work than Dutch pancakes and (sorry, Dutch heritage) much better tasting. Plus no smoking up the house. Or maybe that’s just me. The smoke alarm going off at dinner time is a sure sign I’ve been making pancakes.

Anyway, that’s my version of the recipe. The real one I followed is here. As she notes, the recipe is easily halved. I have usually done it in an 8×8 pan, but last time did a 9×13. We had leftovers, so I’m curious how it will reheat.

One thought on “Move Aside, Dutch Pancakes

  1. Jane Maynardj February 9, 2015 / 4:34 pm

    so glad this recipe was successful for you – one of our favorites!!

Leave a Reply

