Sewing/Craft Workspace

The finishing touches on the basement are slowly coming together. I don’t like it when things drag on and on, and the pressure is on now to finish everything before it warms up outside. If it’s nicer to be outside than in, I know everything will keep getting put off. My sewing corner is finally done… except (aren’t there always excepts? sigh) I’m planning to make some sort of storage solution for all my thread, and I’d like to get some clear plastic drawers to have a more accessible fabric storage system. So anyway, here are a few pictures, of the (95%) finished sewing/craft area. They are taken on my phone, so sorry for the low quality 🙂 IMG_20150119_123700 I wanted to make a cute pennant banner with scrap material… but I didn’t have the right sort of scraps. I ended up finding this fabric with Bible verses on and it worked out good (I think!). The banner was easy enough to sew; I just made a triangle template, and then did the single Bible verses in whatever shape suited it best. I did two of each verse to keep up a bit of a pattern. IMG_20150119_123645 I got these two printables free online, and then made the two on the other side myself. IMG_20150119_123630Made a trip to Ikea for a new sewing chair, sorted through all my fabric (in the blue tote) and found a nice piece of cardboard to use for a cutting board. I’ve also had that “Excellence” sign for a while, but had no place to hang it. I thought it fit nicely here 🙂 This was all good timing, as I did a pile of sewing for a church baby shower with three new babies. Baby items are always fun to sew, I find, because they are small, relatively fast projects, and size is forgiving. Plus, I love finding cute new material! I didn’t remember to take pictures of what I made, except these two phone pictures of two of the taggy blankets I made.

So now on the to-do list: -buy plastic drawers for fabric storage (Hoping for some good deals from Target on its way out of Canada!) -make a thread organizer. I am thinking something like this:

– get sewing my reading nook pillow(s). I am not disclosing my lofty plans lest they come to naught 😉 It is great having a work area with space for the kids to play as well! This basement has already paid for itself by our almost-daily usage.

6 thoughts on “Sewing/Craft Workspace

  1. Lora January 20, 2015 / 5:58 pm

    Nice job Esther. Love that thread storage idea. Let us know how it works out if you try it. Maybe if I had a designated spot for my sewing machine I would actually use it! Now I have to haul it out the cupboard so my mending pile grows and grows. Mom usually ends up coming down before I touch it and then she works through the pile, lol. Anyway, I need to sew curtains for the basement and my bedroom, so one of these days…. Too bad I never stopped by over Christmas… I kicked myself later. 😦
    Lora

    • Red Leather January 20, 2015 / 9:43 pm

      I hardly sewed when I had to pull my sewing machine out of the closet either 😉 I always had to make a big mess in the kitchen, and sewing generally is not something easily cleaned up. It doesn’t fit into perfect time frames either… I’m not sure I would enjoy doing mending sewing either 🙂 So far, I don’t have much of that. If it’s just a seam here or there, I don’t mind that. Yes, I was thinking of how you never came over at Christmas! Next time we’ll have to make a point of having you over here 🙂
      ps. Curtains are time consuming, but fairly easy I’ve found.. unless you are doing something really fancy 🙂 Good luck!

  2. Kelly O. January 20, 2015 / 10:40 pm

    I love your banner! that scripture fabric is fabulous! I have been on the lookout for something similar… did you find it at fabricland?

    • Red Leather January 20, 2015 / 11:06 pm

      I found it at Len’s Mill Store 🙂

Leave a Reply

