The Last Stitch

Well, it’s official! It’s March 31st and I’ve officially crossed my last sew-before-baby project off the list. (Full disclosure: I still want to sew a little curtain for around the change table shelf, but I’m not sure what material to use and I have no real plans of actually finishing it before the baby is born.)

That last project was curtain tiebacks. DSC_0088Sorry, I couldn’t get a picture of the full window because I had a fixed lens on the camera and downstairs seemed an awfully long way to go just for a picture πŸ˜‰

Once again, just like the pillow, I just had to make it a little more complicated than necessary with that little grey strip down the middle of the tiebacks. Of course, I think it looks much better with it, but it’s the story of my life that I have a quick easy project that turns into a little more work here, and then there, and then here again.

But these really were easy and quick. I’m learning to accept that I rarely get things perfect, or exactly at the standard I set for myself. However, I am happy with the results. Here’s a close up. DSC_0093What do you think? Grey strip a good choice? What about the height? Now that I’m looking at the picture I think I maybe should have put them a little lower…

Also, there’s still time (hopefully we’re talking days, not weeks) to put a guess in about baby’s birth date, gender etc πŸ™‚ Go over to this post.

2 thoughts on “The Last Stitch

  1. Lora April 1, 2014 / 9:00 am

    Looks great Esther! You are very crafty! I wouldn’t’t lower them… Just angle them downwards (the middle side of the tie back). Then pull the outside edges of the curtain straight down but allow the middle edge to rise a little. Does this make ANY sense? Hope all goes well. I’m guessing a girl, April 9, 7.5 lbs.

    • Red Leather April 1, 2014 / 8:32 pm

      Hi Lora! Yeah, that does make sense! I will try that tomorrow morning πŸ™‚ I was in a bit of a rush so didn’t fuss too long with them, but I imagine the curtains will hang better if I try that.

Leave a Reply

