Baby Prep: Chair and Curtains

We decided to buy a glider for the baby room this time. With Elijah, I’d wheel Dan’s office chair over and sit in that for middle of the night feedings. It wasn’t great, but it worked. Now, Dan’s office is in the basement and we thought it was a good time to buy a new chair. We bought this one used.

BEFORE:
glider beforeIt looked fine. After I washed it, it looked pretty good, but the cushions were still a little worn and tired looking from a few years of use. I had already decided I wanted to reupholster whatever chair we bought (unless it was brand new and the right colours) so it was just a matter of finding the right material. I wanted something bright and cheerful and reasonably easy to wash. The sewing was surprisingly easy (thanks to my Mom!) and was 90% finished the first day.

AFTER

glider afterThe after picture isn’t quite right on colour-wise, but it’s close. It’s not quite as vibrant. I used ‘outdoor’ material so it’s easy to clean by just wiping rather than throwing everything in the washer. The cushions were too thick for my machine to sew the lines in, so we added 4 buttons to pull the new material and give it a bit of the shape of the pillow underneath (a bit hard to see on here). Anyway, the hardest part? Definitely adding those four buttons… Anyway, I’m going to make a gray pillow yet for there and then that’s that.

I used the same material to make curtains. (I didn’t adjust the colour on these pictures, and I took them at a terrible time of day, so everything looks a little more yellow than it really is!) I still need to make some tiebacks as well.

DSC_0510

Overall, I’m pretty happy with them although I had a bit of trouble sewing the bottom hem. Not sure if you can tell on the picture, but they are hanging a little funny at the bottom– I need to press them yet, and they should be good. The sun shines directly in this window, so I lined them as well. They do a pretty good job at darkening the room. DSC_0514

DSC_0520This is my next little crafty project. I’m making letters to hang on both bedroom doors. (Of course I can’t show you the other letter because that will probably give the gender away!) Anyway, does that look like a train, or not? I’m not super artsy and that felt is a bit difficult to deal with. I’m going to hot glue the fox and train on, rather than sew, since they are quite small. I’ve got some stuffing to add too…

That’s all for today folks!

6 thoughts on “Baby Prep: Chair and Curtains

  1. godlymetamorphosis March 10, 2014 / 10:20 am

    Um…super cute, Est! I love {love!} the fabric/pattern/colours you’ve used. Can you come decorate my room? 😉

    • Red Leather March 10, 2014 / 11:29 am

      Thanks Amanda 🙂 Unfortunately I believe I have used up all my creative energy 😛

  2. Lora March 10, 2014 / 10:54 am

    Very cute Esther! Love the cheerful fabric! And pressing foes wonders to any hem! Spoken by the ironing freak ;). Amazing how that fabric totally changed the chair from tired to fresh and modern. You are inspiring me… I have curtains to sew for the basement.
    Lora

    • Red Leather March 10, 2014 / 11:28 am

      Thanks, Lora 🙂 I’m hoping to press out my mistakes, or at least disguise them a little 🙂

  3. coletrain77 March 10, 2014 / 3:04 pm

    Wow! The room looks great! I love the owls and am so into them myself! I think you did a great job with the curtains and the chair! They look great! And the fox looks like a fox and the train like a train!

Leave a Reply

