Baby Prep: baked goods and baby room

I wasn’t completely unprepared when Elijah showed up much earlier than expected, but this time, I set my mind to being completely prepared by 36 weeks. Although I still have a large list of things to do, (and somehow it keeps getting bigger) all of the big essentials are out of the way. I went on a baking binge for a few days and stocked up the freezer. The only problem is those carmel toffee bars! I keep snitching them out of the freezer. I believe the number should be corrected to about 25. I’m keeping a list of the baked goods I have in our chest freezer which is pretty necessary since it’s now also packed with 40 different freezer meals so it’s hard to tell what’s there. Ideally, I will try to make another tray of squares and batch of cookies and then my list will be complete.

2014-03-07 12.50.57

Elijah and I eat bran muffins pretty much every day so I made plenty of those too. At least we won’t be going hungry 🙂 31 days till my due date!

We ended up redoing the bedroom upstairs into a baby room. Initially we were going to have the baby sleep downstairs for the first few months (We will still do this for the first few weeks, I’m sure) and then pop both kiddos in the same room once the baby is sleeping through the night. Then, on a bit of a whim, we decided we weren’t really using that room for anything else anyway and it was quite dull and boring. So we bought paint and added some tree and owl decor. Anyway.. more on all that another day. What this picture is really of, is my packed hospital bag for the baby. It was so fun going through all the really tiny diapers and onesies again 🙂 2014-03-07 12.49.31Speaking of diapers.. I also pulled out all my newborn “clothies” (as cloth diapers have affectionately come to be called here) and stocked them on our new little change table. (Aren’t they so cute?) I must say, I’m much more prepared in the way of cloth diapering this time around. What’s a few more diapers on top of the ones I’m washing already anyway? A newborn in cloth diapers isn’t very practical though, so I will probably not start using them faithfully for a few months. We picked up this change table for nice and cheap at Ikea. We have a nice heavy duty one in Elijah’s room, but this will be good enough for when the baby is still small.2014-03-07 12.48.19

After getting all inspired by mobile ideas on Pinterest, I decided to try one for myself. It was less than $15 for all the supplies and was probably about 4-6 hours of work. I’m quite happy with how it turned out, but don’t look too closely for mistakes, because you will find plenty!
IMG_20140222_192227

Now, these have been done for quite a while, but the prints are so cute! Two large receiving blankets, and I made little wash cloths out of the remaining strips (backed with terry cloth). 2014-03-07 12.49.08

 

These kind of projects are great for keeping me busy when I’m already at home! I’m kind of at the point where I feel like I’m just waiting for this baby to come because it’s getting harder and harder to do regular tasks! (Bathtub cleaning anyone?) Little sewing projects are very rewarding, and for me, very educational. I’ve learned a lot about sewing and gained a lot of confidence by just working on these little things (receiving blankets, wash cloths, cloth diaper inserts). I still have plenty to learn, but thankfully my mom is willing to help me with the bigger projects– which I will share next week!

2 thoughts on “Baby Prep: baked goods and baby room

  1. Irene March 7, 2014 / 3:20 pm

    Way to go Est! You have been sounding so upbeat and positive and just brimming with energy in your last few posts. Glad things are going well!

    • Red Leather March 7, 2014 / 5:33 pm

      thanks Irene! Sunny weather and projects to work on help me stay positive 🙂

Leave a Reply

