That Terrible You

I find this whisper of fear
It’s beside me, always, right at my arm.
What can I do, what can I do
to be rid of you?
 
The warm breeze of false promise
Blows over me, lands right here.
What can I say, what can I say
to make you go away?
 
The smell of that sunscreen
From summers past, stabs.
What can I think, what can I think
to make your memory sink?
 
I would rip it out and throw it away
I would hide it and not think of that day
I would wash it and clean it and be made new
But I can never, never forget that terrible you.

					
Leave a Reply

