Steadfastly On

What if we always stayed the innocent, the carefree?

What if we never knew these worries and burdens?

I would throw them over my shoulder, never look back.

Drop them, lose them, forget them as if they had never been.

 

What if we always knew what was right, and good and true?

What if we never tricked ourselves that foolishness was fun?

I would laugh lightheartedly, love purely, never offend.

Goodbye to my silly pride, I’ll be glad to be rid of you.

 

I won’t hang onto the past, innocent days

I’ll look forward, press on, to the future, the better.

I’ll lay aside the weights, those cumbering weights

And run steadfastly on with a heavenly gaze.

 

Copyright © 2013 by My Red Leather Notebook

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

