Reflections on Life

free-writing poetry exercise
(if uninspired, find a picture to write about!)

1

Some day it won’t be a mystery.

I will run through the grass and over the hills

And begin my own history.

2

It won’t be today- I’m too small now-

But I will find out what’s behind those chain links,

And where the sun goes when it’s down.

3

My fingers clutch this barrier tight;

I pull it and shake it, a clashing of wills.

Defeated again, a lost fight.

4

It’s the future that I want to see.

What happens to this world, what good and what ill?

And what is stored up there for me?

5

I watched and saw my life with new eyes:

A forgotten petal fell from the flower,

Dead and wilted, so there it lies.

6

Our lives– they are  just one shallow breath.

Our moments, years pass by in one short hour,

Then they are gone, replaced by death.

7

Soon through the grass and over the hills

Will seem to be just a passing dream, I think

As I sit through evening’s still.

Leave a Reply

